DIY With A (Re)Purpose: Gypsy Candle Holders

ImageImage

If you’re anything like me, you have about one thousand (and two) empty once-upon-a-time candle holders. Just chillin’, hangin out around your house. Why? I don’t really know, maybe I’m a hoarder? All I knew is that I need to recycle half of them, and the other half I want to paint. So last night started out with Pukka Harmonise tea, which I’m really loving lately (however, let’s be honest, I moved on to beer right afterwards), lots of splattered paint, and jammin’ to Mazzy Star. P.s. that’s the best jaded radio station ever, I’m kind of addicted. Anyhow, this is what became of my collection, so far. I’m sure I’ll do about 1000 posts of ideas of how to paint them. It’s super easy, and I’m always wanting to add pretty colors to my apartment without calling (or spending) out for a tacky vibe. Also, my lighting last night was less than impressive, we’ll pretend it was amazing:

{I used: Martha Stewart Acrylic Crafts Paints via: Bubble Gum, Habanero, Metallic Gold + Martha Stewart Crafts Frost Glass Paint via: Ballet Slipper}

ImageImageImageImage

 Directions: After your first base-coat dries, you want to continue with lighter paint and use swift, upwards, strokes. After the first round of the using the lighter paint around the base, you don’t want to let it completely dry. Only about half-dry. Wait until it’s a bit, well, ‘gooey’ still. That way, you can get more of a ‘swirling effect’ as you continue with your second-coat, continuing painting upwards. I played around with about a total of 3 to 4 ‘half-dried’ coats.  The colors then become more blended, and it gives the, as seen, ‘rustic-gypsy’ effect. For the ‘Bubble Gum’ candle holder, you can see I just put flecks of the ‘Habanero’ (aka red) by simply dotting where I wanted the color and used the same upwards technique. Easy & pretty cool.

I was clearly just playing around last night, so mine are pretty simple, but I was thinking how cool would black look swirled-in with all the light colors? Also, feel free to use a gloss for a more polished look- I chose the more rustic route, clearly. Here’s how I’m using mine:

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

