Rice, Rice, Baby: Thai Coconut Brown Rice

Image 

{a part from my lame-themed title, this Thai Coconut Brown Rice recipe makes up for it}

So lately as things around my life have just been a little hectic, I’ve been gravitating towards being a complete home-obsessed dog lady.  I’m also equivalent to that of a vampire because of my lack of sun as of late. Although, I am in no way ashamed of that statement- I happen to admire vampires, who doesn’t?  No one, that’s who.  Anyhow, I’m sure vampires love Thai food, another thing no one doesn’t like. Thai food is easy, comforting, and incredibly versatile.  Plus, I like to pretend I’m suiting up for a trip to Thailand in the near future (i.e. just let me dream). Ah, but vampires and Thailand- really. It’s the perfect combination. However, on to the best Thai-takeout-inspired recipe…ever.  Also, it’s much healthier, of course. Woo! 

Image 

{another lamed-theme statement; my modest kitchen, aka, where the magic happens…hell yea. Clearly, I believe in year-round christmas lights, it’s the simple things}

you will need

1 cup brown rice

2 cups of coconut milk (I used half whole-fat coconut milk, and half light coconut milk)- you may give or take on the cup-age, I’m a risky kinda’ girl and eyed it. 

2 tbsp of grapeseed oil 

1/2 diced onion

1/2 diced bell pepper

Handful of fresh basil

Handful of fresh cilantro

as wanted, purple cabbage served raw (it’s delicious with the rice + amazing for us raw)

pinch of smoked paprika, pink himalayan salt, & pepper

oh, and clearly, Sriracha is a no-brainer for this one

p.s…some of the directions below may seem a little backwards, but just go with the flow, yo. 

Image

Image

Secret to cooking the perfect rice: add the oil to the bottom of the pan on high-heat- after oil is heated- add your rice and slightly brown rice before cooking it. Works like a charm. 

Directions: Add your coconut milk to the already somewhat browned rice, and bring to a boil. Also, because we don’t want the rice, well, ‘rice-y’, stir the rice continuously so the rice becomes more on the sticky side. It makes for a creamier dish, which is what you want here. Add your onions, bell peppers, and spices once at a boil. Continue by following the cooking time as directed for your rice. For instance, I cooked the brown basmati rice I was using for about 35 minutes, give or take. Just depends on the type of rice you are using.  Remember to keep stirring continuously (i.e. arm workout.) After your rice is cooked, before cooling, add your basil.  Stir. Serve atop your purple cabbage and top it with cilantro.  

Obviously, the cabbage is optional, but it’s absolutely delicious with this because of the balance and texture it gives the dish. It’s very fresh and feels like spin on a nutrient-dense salad. It would be perfect for day-after lunches, too. So making this in advance is always an option. Hope you enjoy, feel free to ask in questions or suggestions in the comment box. Til’ next time my loves. Oh, and cheers to delicious Thai food, and vampires. 

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

