Monday Morning Madness: Happy Labor Day + Living in Charlotte During the DNC.

First Off; Happy Labor Day Lovies!

So lately, ladies and gents, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. Big dreams, big jobs, and lots of juggling are usually involved in our twenty-something-aged life this era. Times where we looked to others to tell us what we are supposed to be doing has long past. I have to think with this economy, the stereotypical go to college, get a job, find the love of your life, buy a house, ‘yadda yadda yadda-speal’ doesn’t give us a routed course anymore. ย Our generation seems to be very vivid, and in a way, I think it fits to say we aren’t scared of swerving from the routed course.

Given this, I’ve definitely been a bit lazy about posting as of late. For one, if you guys aren’t aware, I live in Charlotte, NC as of the moment and this week as some of you may know, is kind of a big deal. The Democratic National Convention is being hosted mere blocks from where I live so I’m pretty stoked about the whole ordeal and trying to make my way through the crowds of what is hopefully going to be very inspirational and eye-opening. I’ve made my whole morning out of trying to get a seat for the President’s nomination-acceptance Speech, all in hopes good Karma will come in handy with the feat.

When I first went off to college in 2007 at Pace University, I remember for my birthday (October 2) all I wanted was to go and see Barack Obama speak in Washington Square Park. At the time, I was a political-craze and loved everything about the whole process and deemed my major would definitely be either Political Science or International Relations; Changing the world seemed so viable and alive in those lovely years. So, a couple of us skipped class for the day and rounded ourselves up, hopped on a train, and set off to see what would become, a mere year later, the new US president. It was a high to be apart of something that was so big, and since that one time, I’ve always been avid in catching glimpses of history.

Perhaps I’ll even blame my lack of posting on being politically active and aware. Although that may, or may not, be true. Still, it sounds kind of Jackie Kennedy-ish, right?

Aside from the political-chaos, I’m also thinking of moving back to NYC and I’m so ready to get back that recently a lot of time has been consumed in planning (and thinking, and contemplating, and spazzing about life, etc.,etc.,etc.) the move back (hopefully). That means cortisol production from the adrenaline of trying to plan another move is already taking a toll. Money-saving and internship/job searching has definitely been on my big-girl list of things to do as of late.

Pretty much, there has just been a lot going on in my mind and around me. Which is not always bad, it’s almost kind of like critical thinking, but completely by environment, that in itself is pretty cool to me. So I’m deeming this week ‘Environmental-Critical-Thinking Week’, in that, I intend to keep my guard down with the whole DNC ordeal…take it all in; Let all of the debate, craziness, and action around me, truly inspire me. Try to become a little more pro-active by definition, if only for my generation, because I think times are a little tough for all of us right now, and we could use more of the word ‘pro’ and ‘active’. I’m a big believer in ‘everything happens for a reason’ and I came across the quote above the other day, which pretty must instills what I’ve been running around in circles over this whole post. Put yourself around what it is you want to be; It’s the only way that you will become just that.

Cheers to looking dashing in (Red) White (and Blue)/soaking up the last of summer/Being Pro-Active, all in spirit for a lovely Labor Day darlings! Til’ again…

Leave a Reply

