A ‘Blank Slate’ of Mind

                   ‘I have to hand it to you kid. Most people come to Paris to fall in love. You came and got slapped.’ -Big

Sometimes it’s easy to feel a little overwhelmed on the matter of life. You go about your day, and then suddenly it hits you. You’re so far away. Where you need to be seems like miles and miles of desert, your golden castle of success is for sure melting in front of your eyes. You’re down, and a little out, and beauty rest is, well, kind of a joke. After all, you can’t sleep when you’re chasing dreams and juggling reality. When all seems lost and you take just enough time to stop and really think about things… life starts to look a lot like your overflowing closet you’ve been meaning to organize. That is, of course, if your closet is anything resembling mine. It also doesn’t help that when life gives us lemons; our skin usually gives us hell, too. As if things aren’t crazy enough (aka: wishing your Super-Woman outfit, fit, everyday), it doesn’t help that all the sudden you feel like your skin is looking like Cruella De Vil’s on top of everything else.

To no one’s surprise that’s been me as of late. Yet simply, I refuse. We deserve at least to make our days lovely, and our skin luminous, even when the sky of life is looking a little…meek.

So, I’ve been full-‘forcing’ the ‘Mind, Body, and Soul’ mantra. How can we expect to look and feel glamorous, when we actually are freaking the ($%&*!) out about , well, life? Insert; you breathe, perhaps rearrange your apartment 100(000) times, as I have done recently, light some candles, and realize it’s all apart of the package. I think in due time- when all the ickiness fades out- you remember to realize you’ll get there eventually. You’ll work hard at what you want, and WILL do, and not let your determination seep through the cracks of hard times. And, you also won’t forget we are all, without a doubt, fragile beings…and sometimes we just need a little balance when we’re swaying.

I often forget this word, so I’m no saint, I’m no preacher. However, there is something very strong inside us all that can embrace the idea of balance.

With balance I think we learn to master being kind to ourselves. Realizing it’s okay to come down from the clouds if just for a bit and reflect. Maybe even cry a little. Hell, even put on a movie that’ll make you cry if it helps (P.S. I Love You has been calling my name for a good second.) We can’t be glowy goddesses if we’re stressed to the max, and for what? To come to the realization we have no control? We sometimes don’t. That’s the funny thing about life, though we try, and we’re truly beautiful when we try. It kind of makes me realize we’re beings of hope, and that in itself makes me again realize everything will indeed, be okay. Even when I sometimes see my golden castle of success melting (ha.) We’re all beautiful creatures really, we just have to remember it.

Perhaps, also, the idea of beauty is pretty simple if we understand it in the most basic terms; If we aren’t pretty on the inside, we will reflect just that, on the outside. So I figured because I have been a little on the ends and outs I would spread some light to some little ways I like to find simple happiness from time-to-time (and perhaps leave Cruella’s skin behind while I’m at it):

Sex and the City re-runs. Because, I’m a firm believer Carrie Bradshaw can make any day a little brighter. (don’t ya’ love when Big tells her the quote above when he finally sweeps her off her feet in Paris?)

Wearing this color because it makes me feel dangerous, and therefore, untouchable.(pictured above), ‘Blank Slate‘ Sonia Kashuk. (and maybe because I like to pretend it will transport me to a cozy cafe in Paris reading some life-changing book wearing the above from Valentino’s fall collection.)

Candles. Candles. Candles. Which I’m a complete feign for. Such an easy fix to feel a little more glamourous while at home. J’adore.

And finally the grande finale, a lovely Fall-inspired mask. Andalou Naturals Pumpkin Honey Mask, has been my mask-of-choice as of recently. The Glycolic super-brightens your complexion and rids the dullness that sometimes hits our skin full-force. It’s been much(hhh) needed by my stressed-skin as of late. Just in time to turn a new leaf- for the best season of all. (woo!)

Clearly, you wear it while watching Sex and the City. it’s all a circle really. Enjoy loves.

Leave a Reply

